Harry Potter Books In Order by J.K. Rowling

Last updated on April 21, 2023 by

Whether you’re a longtime fan or new to the series, reading the Harry Potter books in order is a must. It will help you to fully appreciate the characters, plot, and overarching themes that make this series so beloved. Each book offers something new and exciting while building upon the story that came before. No wonder why the Harry Potter series has become a cultural phenomenon around the globe. Today, let’s dig and gain insight into the magical world of Harry Potter. 

Guide Harry Potter Series

Overview of Harry Potter

J.K. Rowling, a British author, has authored a series of seven fantasy books called Harry Potter. The plot centers on Harry Potter, a young orphan boy who discovers he is a wizard. Then, it sets off on a magical journey full of peril, adventure, and self-discovery.

harry potter book series
Edit this example

Harry attends Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry throughout the whole series, where he befriends other students. This includes Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley. Together, they encounter numerous obstacles and conflicts. Also, the themes of love, friendship, loyalty, and bravery are all explored in the series. Additionally, this Harry Potter series order explores complex subjects like prejudice, loss, and the effects of decisions made.

Harry Potter Books In Order

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (1997)

harry potter and the philosopher stone

The first book in the series, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” was released in 1997. Here, we are introduced to the protagonist of the story, Harry Potter. On his eleventh birthday, it was revealed that he is a wizard. Further, he is accepted in the magical world of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The adventure progresses as Harry learns about the wizarding world. He meets new people and discovers a lot about his family. Along the way, he encounters obstacles like a shadowy scheme to obtain the Philosopher’s Stone. It is said to be a powerful magical relic that bestows immortality.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)

harry potter and the chamber of secrets

In 1998, the second release of Harry Potter in order was entitled Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The story resumes where the first book left off as Harry returns for his second year at Hogwarts. However, strange circumstances like student attacks and the uncovering of a hidden chamber inside Hogwarts start to take place. In order to solve the mystery, Harry, Ron, and Hermione need to cooperate. The trio sets out to uncover the truth behind the attacks, a wicked force that threatens the wizarding world. Moreover, the book introduces new characters and animals to the magical realm.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)

harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban

The third book, “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban,” continues the adventures of the lead character. This series brings a new threat to Harry as Sirius Black, a violent wizard, escaped from the wizarding prison. Additionally, the enigmatic and evil Dementors, the guards of Azkaban stationed at the school to guard against Black’s potential return. The novel also introduces new characters, notably the quirky Divination professor Sybill Trelawney and the faithful and brave hippogriff Buckbeak. As the mystery surrounding Sirius Black deepens, Harry learns more about his family history. Further, he discovers the events that led to his parents’ deaths.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)

harry potter and the goblet of fire

Another action-packed series in the Harry Potter books in order is “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire”. In this book, Hogwarts is selected to host the Triwizard Tournament. It is a dangerous and highly competitive magical competition between three schools of magic. Harry, who is too young to compete, is for some reason added to the competition as a fourth player. Lord Voldemort, the evil figure, is building strength and preparing to make a comeback. Eventually, this will result in a final confrontation with Harry.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)

harry potter and the order of the phoenix

The Ministry of Magic rejected and dismissed the return of the evil wizard Voldemort in this series. It causes deep chaos in the wizarding community. Dolores Umbridge, a nasty and dictatorial figure, is now in charge of Hogwarts and has implemented repressive and limiting policies. Dumbledore’s Army is a covert organization Harry and his friends found to train in defense against the dark arts. Also, Harry must battle both his personal inner demons and the mounting danger from  Voldemort and the Death Eaters. 

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)

harry potter and the half blood prince

As they continue to plan and scheme against the wizarding world, Voldemort and his Death Eaters become more powerful. Meanwhile, Dumbledore starts to instruct Harry about Voldemort’s history and the mysteries that led to his ascent to power. Harry must handle the complexities of puberty, including his affection for Ginny, the sister of his best friend. Throughout the book, Harry and his friends also work to uncover the identity of the “Half-Blood Prince”. He is known as a mysterious figure whose old textbook is filled with powerful and dangerous spells.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

harry potter and the deathly hallows

The Harry Potter series order still centers on the main lead of the previous books. Harry,  who is now a teenager, continues his battles against the evil wizard Voldemort and his Death Eaters. The remaining Horcruxes, hold a portion of Voldemort’s soul and must be destroyed in order to defeat him. The trios come across peril, betrayal, grief, and unanticipated allies who help them in their mission. As the story develops, Harry also discovers the truth about his own background and relationship with Voldemort. He is forced to confront the potential necessity of making the ultimate sacrifice in order to save the wizarding world.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016)

harry potter and the cursed child

Jack Thorne’s two-part stage play, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child,” was first produced in 2016.  Afterward, it was released as a screenplay book based on the original story of J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Thorne. The plot follows Harry Potter, who is now a middle-aged man working for the Ministry of Magic. His son, Albus Severus, is about to begin his first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Unfortunately, he is struggling to live up to his father’s legacy. Albus meets Scorpius Malfoy, the son of his father’s old enemy Draco Malfoy, at Hogwarts. But the two boys get involved in a time-traveling adventure that takes them to various points in the past. Wherein, they must attempt to right the wrongs and stop a dangerous alternate reality from occurring.


Undoubtedly, the Harry Potter series captivated readers of all ages. Also, it has become a timeless classic in the world of children’s and young adult literature. It is a must-read for anyone who loves fantasy, adventure, and stories of triumph over evil. Moreover, Harry Potter books in order is a great help to gain a brief overview of the adventures of the protagonist. We hope that you enjoyed reading this blog, and don’t forget to follow GitMind for more series and books.

Rating:4.3 /5(based on 12 ratings)Thanks for your rating!
Posted by: on to Tips and Resources. Last updated on April 21, 2023

Leave a Comment

Please input your name!
Please input review content!

Comment (0)